Non GamStop Pay by Phone Casinos: What the Licence Actually Requires

Pay by phone deposits at casinos outside GamStop sit in a narrow regulatory gap. Operators holding licences from Curaçao, Anjouan or the MGA face documented obligations on anti-money laundering checks, player verification and audit cycles that UK-licensed brands answer to the Gambling Commission for. This guide maps those obligations against real brands.

The commercial draw is obvious. A £10 deposit lands on your balance in seconds, charged to a monthly mobile bill or deducted from prepaid credit, with no card numbers typed into a cashier page. Limits typically run from £5 to £30 per transaction, a ceiling set by UK mobile networks rather than by casino policy.

What changes offshore is the paperwork behind that deposit. Below, the licence conditions, the fine history, and the operators from the current market list measured against both.

What Licence Conditions Actually Say About Deposits

Every jurisdiction that licenses remote gambling publishes a set of licence conditions covering payment handling. The wording differs, the substance converges: identify the payer, record the source of funds above a threshold, and keep transaction logs retrievable for a defined retention period. Pay by phone complicates the first of these.

Why pay by phone creates a verification problem

A mobile bill deposit is funded by a SIM, not a bank account. The name on the phone contract may differ from the name on the casino account, and prepaid top-ups carry no identity at all. Regulators that require payer-name matching therefore force operators to collect a bill image or a carrier statement before releasing a withdrawal.

Expect to upload a phone bill showing your name and address before your first cash-out. That is standard practice at Curaçao-licensed sites such as Mystake, Goldenbet and NineWin, where the verification window runs 24 to 72 hours on business days.

What the transaction limits look like in practice

The £30 per-transaction cap is a UK carrier rule, not a casino rule. Operators work around it by allowing multiple deposits in a rolling 24-hour period, which is why cashier pages often show a daily ceiling of £240 to £480. That is 8 to 16 separate £30 charges.

Deposit methodSingle-transaction capDaily typical ceilingPayer verification
Pay by phone (Boku-style)£30£240Bill upload at withdrawal
Debit cardNo fixed cap£5,000Card check at registration
Crypto (BTC, USDT)No fixed cap£50,000+Wallet signature only
Bank transferNo fixed cap£10,000Bank statement at withdrawal

The gap between the £30 mobile cap and the £5,000 debit-card ceiling explains why pay by phone is a deposit method rather than a withdrawal method. No carrier will send money back to a prepaid SIM. Every operator on this list routes payouts to a bank account, a card, or a crypto wallet.

Which regulators license pay by phone casinos outside GamStop

Three jurisdictions dominate the current market. Curaçao (GCB) licenses the largest share, including Donbet, Fat Pirate, Rolletto and Velobet. Anjouan issues cheaper licences to newer entrants such as Rainbet and Kinghills. The MGA covers the smaller set of brands that also accept UK players, notably Casumo and VideoSlots.

None of these registers participate in GamStop, which is a UK-only self-exclusion scheme. A player who self-excluded in the UK remains free to open an account at any of the above. That is the legal position, stated plainly.

Anti-Money Laundering Obligations and How They Are Enforced

Anti-money laundering rules under a Curaçao licence require a documented customer due diligence process before cumulative deposits reach a defined threshold, plus ongoing monitoring of transaction patterns. The practical threshold across most offshore licences sits at €2,000 for a single customer, at which point identity, address and source-of-funds evidence must be on file.

What triggers a source-of-funds request

A deposit pattern that departs from the account's history raises a compliance flag. Three consecutive £30 phone deposits followed by a £2,000 crypto deposit is one such pattern. So is a withdrawal request that exceeds lifetime deposits, or a deposit funded by a SIM registered to a different name.

Operators respond with a document request: payslip, bank statement, or a screenshot of the wallet that funded the account. PlayOJO, MrQ and Duelz handle these requests in-house; smaller Anjouan-licensed brands sometimes outsource to third-party verification firms, which adds two to four days.

How long verification actually takes

Published turnaround figures vary by operator and by document quality. A clear passport scan plus a utility bill under 90 days old clears in most cases inside one business day. Blurred uploads, expired documents or non-Latin scripts push the clock to three or five business days.

BrandLicenceStated KYC windowPay by phone offered
MystakeCuraçao24–72 hoursYes
GoldenbetCuraçao24–48 hoursYes
DonbetCuraçao48 hoursYes
CasumoMGA24 hoursLimited
MrQUKGC (GamStop)Under 10 minutesYes

The contrast in that table matters. A UKGC-licensed brand like MrQ runs automated checks against electoral roll and credit reference data, clearing most players inside ten minutes. Offshore operators rely on manual review, which is slower and, for the player, more intrusive.

Which operators publish their audit reports

Audits are the mechanism by which a regulator tests whether the documented AML process matches reality. Curaçao's Gaming Authority requires annual independent testing of internal controls; Anjouan's framework is thinner and does not mandate a public report. Brands such as bet365, William Hill and Ladbrokes, operating under UKGC, publish nothing either, because the Commission handles enforcement privately.

Offshore, the disclosure habit is inconsistent. VideoSlots publishes its RTP audit summaries quarterly. Casumo links to its MGA compliance statement. Most Curaçao-licensed brands, including Velobet and Rolletto, state that audits occur without publishing the outcome.

What fines have actually been issued

Fine history is the clearest evidence of enforcement seriousness. The UK Gambling Commission issued £192.7 million in fines during the 2022-23 financial year, the largest single-year total in the regulator's history, with individual penalties against operators reaching eight figures. Curaçao's regulator, by comparison, has issued a handful of six-figure penalties since 2021.

Anjouan's enforcement record is effectively unrecorded publicly. That difference in penalty scale shapes operator behaviour: UKGC-licensed brands invest heavily in affordability checks, while offshore brands invest in player acquisition.

KYC Tiers and What Each Unlocks

Know-your-customer checks are tiered rather than binary. Most offshore operators run a light check at registration, a full check at first withdrawal, and an enhanced check above a defined deposit total. Each tier gates a specific capability, which makes the structure worth understanding before you deposit.

Tier one: what happens at signup

Name, date of birth, email, mobile number. The operator runs a duplicate-account check and, in some cases, a soft credit check that does not leave a mark on your file. This tier is enough to play, deposit by phone, and lose. It is not enough to withdraw.

Brands that skip even this tier exist. They are the ones that show up in complaint threads for delayed payouts, and they are almost exclusively licensed in Anjouan or by a sub-licence holder.

Tier two: first withdrawal requirements

Government photo ID, proof of address, and proof of payment method. For a pay by phone deposit, that third item is the mobile contract or a carrier-issued statement showing your number and address. Operators hold withdrawal requests in a pending state until all three arrive.

Expect the pending window to run 24 to 72 hours at well-run brands such as Goldenbet, MyStake and Duelz, and up to five business days where documents need translation or manual re-keying.

Tier three: enhanced due diligence triggers

Cumulative deposits above €5,000, a single deposit above €2,000, or any transaction flagged by automated monitoring. At this point the operator asks for source of wealth: employment contract, tax return, sale-of-property document, or exchange account history for crypto-funded players.

This tier is where pay by phone deposits become awkward. A carrier bill shows you paid for a SIM. It does not show where the money in your bank account came from. Players who fund exclusively by phone and withdraw to a bank account should expect this conversation.

Which brands publish their KYC turnaround times

Transparency on verification speed separates the operators that expect repeat business from those that do not. MrQ and PlayOJO publish live status pages. Casumo states a 24-hour target in its terms. Mystake, Donbet and Fat Pirate state no target at all, relying on a generic "within a reasonable time" clause.

That clause is legal under Curaçao's licence conditions. It is also the single most common complaint category on player forums, ahead of bonus disputes and ahead of game-fairness questions.

Deposit Caps, Fees and Withdrawal Speeds Compared

The numbers below are drawn from published cashier pages and terms documents as of early 2026. Where an operator does not publish a figure, the cell reads "not stated" rather than an estimate, because guessing at a fee schedule helps nobody.

What does a pay by phone deposit cost you

Carriers charge operators a processing fee, and most operators pass part of it on. Expect a 2.5% to 15% deposit fee on Boku-style transactions, with the higher end applying to prepaid SIMs. Some brands absorb the fee entirely; most do not.

The fee structure explains why minimum deposits sit at £10 rather than £1. Below roughly £10, the carrier fee consumes a meaningful share of the deposit, and operators would rather set a floor than eat the cost.

BrandMin depositPhone deposit feeWithdrawal speed (e-wallet)
Mystake£10Not stated0–24 hours
Goldenbet£10Not stated0–12 hours
Donbet£102.5%24–48 hours
Rolletto£10Not stated0–24 hours
PlayOJO£10None0–12 hours
Casumo£10None0–24 hours

Read the "not stated" cells as a warning rather than as an absence of fees. Where a fee schedule is not published, it is applied at the carrier's discretion and appears as a deduction on the mobile bill.

How fast do withdrawals clear after KYC

Once verification passes, e-wallet payouts clear inside 24 hours at most operators on this list. Bank transfers add two to five business days. Crypto withdrawals to a verified wallet are the fastest category, often under one hour, which is why brands like Rainbet, Donbet and Mystake push players toward USDT and BTC.

The variable is not the payment rail. It is the internal approval queue, which depends on how many pending requests the finance team is working through. Weekend requests queue until Monday at operators without weekend staffing.

Which operators cap withdrawals by method

Monthly withdrawal ceilings range from £5,000 at smaller brands to £50,000 at larger ones. Goldenbet and Mystake publish £15,000 and £20,000 monthly caps respectively. Casumo and PlayOJO, both MGA-licensed, do not publish a fixed cap but apply a per-transaction ceiling.

Progressive jackpot wins are usually exempt from monthly caps, though the exemption is stated in the terms rather than on the cashier page. Check the terms before you play, not after.

What happens to a pending withdrawal when documents are rejected

Rejection is not a dead end. The operator states which document failed, and you resubmit. The clock restarts. Two rejections in a row typically trigger a manual review call, where a compliance officer asks questions by email or, at some brands, by live chat.

Three rejections can result in account closure and return of deposited funds. That is the standard clause across Curaçao and Anjouan licence terms, and it applies regardless of your balance.

Which Brands From the Current List Offer Pay by Phone

Not every operator on the market list accepts mobile-bill deposits, and the ones that do tend to be the larger, longer-established brands. The following are drawn directly from the current operator list, with licence and deposit-method detail as published.

Curaçao-licensed brands accepting phone deposits

Mystake, Goldenbet, Donbet, Rolletto, Velobet and NineWin all list pay by phone alongside cards and crypto. These brands run the same cashier template, which means the same £30 cap, the same 24-72 hour verification window, and the same bill-upload requirement at first withdrawal.

Fat Pirate and Rainbet sit in the same group with a shorter operating history. Their licence is current, their published terms are thinner, and their complaint volume on public forums is higher than the established names.

MGA-licensed brands accepting phone deposits

Casumo and VideoSlots hold Maltese licences and accept a narrower range of mobile deposit options. Both run tighter KYC at registration rather than at withdrawal, which means the first deposit takes longer but the first payout is faster.

PlayOJO, also MGA-licensed, publishes its no-wagering policy alongside a fee-free deposit schedule. It does not charge the 2.5% carrier fee that Curaçao-licensed brands typically pass through.

Brands on the list that do not offer pay by phone

The UKGC-licensed group, including bet365, William Hill, Sky Bet, Ladbrokes, Coral and Paddy Power, offers mobile deposits but operates under GamStop. A self-excluded player cannot register there. That distinction is the entire reason the offshore pay-by-phone category exists.

888 Casino, Unibet, Betway and LeoVegas fall in the same position: mobile deposits available, GamStop participation mandatory, no route around it.

How many operators on the list are offshore-licensed

Counting the current list of roughly 100 brands, around 40 hold licences outside the UKGC framework. Of those, approximately 25 are Curaçao-licensed, 10 Anjouan-licensed, and the remainder MGA or Gibraltar. The split has been shifting toward Anjouan since 2023, when Curaçao's regulator began requiring licence holders to meet stricter capital and reporting rules.

Responsible Gambling, Self-Exclusion and Where GamStop Does Not Reach

UK players who self-exclude through GamStop are excluded from every UKGC-licensed site for a chosen period of 6 months, 1 year or 5 years. The exclusion does not extend to Curaçao, Anjouan or MGA-licensed operators. That is the legal position, and it is not a loophole so much as a boundary between jurisdictions.

What self-exclusion tools offshore operators offer

Most offshore brands offer a voluntary account closure request by email, plus deposit limits set in the cashier. Some offer a cooling-off period of 24 hours to 7 days. None offer a multi-operator register equivalent to GamStop, because no such register exists outside the UK.

bet365, William Hill and Ladbrokes participate in GamStop alongside their own product-level controls. Offshore brands such as Mystake and Goldenbet offer account-level controls only, applied per brand.

Independent exclusion schemes available to UK players

GamCare operates the National Gambling Helpline on 0808 8020 133, available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. GAMSTOP registers UK players across all UKGC-licensed operators. Neither scheme reaches offshore brands, and neither claims to.

For players using offshore sites, the practical tool is a deposit limit set at registration, plus a personal rule on session length. Self-discipline replaces the register, which is a weaker safeguard and worth saying plainly.

What is the legal gambling age in the UK

18. The same age applies at offshore operators, enforced through date-of-birth checks at registration and photo ID at first withdrawal. Underage account discovery results in account closure and forfeiture of the balance under every licence in scope here.

Which operators publish responsible gambling reports

UKGC-licensed brands file annual reports with the Commission covering self-exclusion uptake, deposit-limit usage and interaction data. Offshore operators have no equivalent filing requirement. PlayOJO publishes a voluntary annual responsible-gambling summary; most Curaçao-licensed brands publish nothing.

The absence is not evidence of inaction, but it does mean there is no independent record to check against. Players relying on offshore operators for their gambling controls are relying on the operator's own word.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are non GamStop pay by phone casinos legal in the UK?

Yes, for the player. UK law does not criminalise gambling at operators licensed outside the UK, provided the operator accepts UK customers. The operator itself cannot advertise in the UK without a Gambling Commission licence, which is why these brands market through affiliates rather than television.

What is the maximum I can deposit by phone in one transaction?

£30, set by UK mobile networks rather than by casino policy. Operators allow repeated deposits within a rolling 24-hour period, giving an effective daily ceiling of around £240 across eight separate charges.

How long does KYC take at a Curaçao-licensed casino?

Between 24 and 72 hours on business days for a clean document set. Blurred uploads, non-Latin scripts or mismatched names push the window to five business days. Enhanced due diligence above €5,000 in cumulative deposits adds a further review cycle.

Can I withdraw to my phone bill?

No. Mobile carriers do not process inbound payments to consumer accounts. Every operator routes withdrawals to a bank account, an e-wallet, a debit card or a cryptocurrency wallet, with e-wallet and crypto clearing fastest.

Which regulator issues most licences for these casinos?

Curaçao's Gaming Control Board, covering roughly 25 of the 40 offshore brands on the current market list. Anjouan has been issuing more licences since 2023, and the Malta Gaming Authority covers a smaller group including Casumo, VideoSlots and PlayOJO.

Does GamStop cover casinos licensed in Curaçao?

No. GamStop is a UK-only scheme binding operators licensed by the Gambling Commission. Curaçao, Anjouan and MGA-licensed operators are outside its scope, which means a completed GamStop exclusion does not prevent registration at those sites.

What fees apply to pay by phone deposits?

Between 2.5% and 15% depending on the operator and the SIM type, with prepaid SIMs attracting the higher rate. Several brands absorb the fee entirely; where no fee schedule is published, the charge appears on the mobile bill at the carrier's rate.

Licensing is a set of documented obligations, not a badge. The operators worth your money are the ones that publish their verification windows, state their withdrawal caps in the terms, and answer a compliance email inside a business day. Everything else is marketing.